Skip to main content

Guillaume Wantz transformed his sailboat this summer into a real measurement laboratory. Our organic solar ace (OPV) left with the latest organic solar sail prototype. As a result, tests and measurements over 800 nautical miles covered over a period of 6 weeks of cabotage between the mainland and Corsica.

In collaboration between Héole and his laboratory at the University of Bordeaux, Guillaume has specially designed a waterproof, automated and autonomous measuring device. It allows it to collect solar photovoltaic electricity production from several solar modules every minute.

In particular, attention was paid to the systematic comparison of OPV modules against reference silicon modules. Beyond the electrical parameters of solar modules and batteries, the acquisition integrates the measurement of multiple environmental parameters such as: temperature, calibrated solar irradiance, azimuth, speed, GPS position and humidity which are to be correlated with the production of electricity.

 

The results are very convincing.

The data analysis work is colossal, but rich in information.

Heole’s OPV modules withstood these extreme conditions of Mediterranean heat, strong winds and saline atmosphere very well. Electricity production was substantial despite a vertical orientation and rarely optimal positioning of the modules in relation to the sun (because we do not choose the orientation of the boat which is dictated by the wind). Over the entire cruise, if we normalize the energy produced at the peak power of the modules, then the OPV produces on average 50% more electricity than the silicon module. Under certain conditions, Guillaume even observes a clear superiority of OPV modules over silicon capable of producing up to twice as much integrated electrical energy in a day.

These measurement campaigns are essential to understand and improve the energy production process of our future sails.

The results are very encouraging for Héole. We are confident and looking forward to our first large sails producing this electricity in excess of what is needed. Such a surplus of renewable energy could contribute to the development of electric motors for the sailboats of tomorrow.

Skip to main content

Guillaume Wantz a transformé cet été son voilier en véritable laboratoire de mesure. Notre as du solaire organique (OPV) est parti avec à son flan les derniers prototype de voile solaire organique. Au bilan, des tests et mesures sur 800 miles nautiques parcourues sur une période de 6 semaines de cabotage entre le continent et la Corse.

En collaboration entre Héole et son laboratoire à l’Université de Bordeaux, Guillaume a conçu spécialement un appareil de mesure étanche, automatisé et autonome. Il lui permet de collecter toutes les minutes la production d’électricité solaire photovoltaïque de plusieurs modules solaires.

En particulier, l’attention fût portée sur la comparaison systématique des modules OPV par rapport à des modules de référence en silicium. Au-delà des paramètres électriques des modules solaires et des batteries, l’acquisition intègre la mesure de multiples paramètres environnementaux comme par exemples : la température, l’irradiance solaire calibrée, l’azimut, la vitesse, la position GPS et l’humidité qui sont à corréler à la production d’électricité.

 

Les résultats sont très convaincants.

Le travail d’analyse des données est colossal, mais riche d’information.

Les modules OPV d’Héole ont très bien résisté à ces conditions extrêmes de chaleur méditerranéenne, de vents forts et d’ambiance saline. La production d’électricité a été conséquente malgré une orientation verticale et un positionnement rarement optimal des modules par rapport au soleil (car on ne choisit pas l’orientation du bateau qui est dictée par le vent). Sur l’ensemble de la croisière, si on normalise l’énergie produite à la puissance crête des modules, alors l’OPV produit en moyenne 50% d’électricité de plus que le module silicium. Dans certaines conditions, Guillaume observe même une nette supériorité des modules OPV par rapport au silicium capable de produire jusqu’à 2 fois plus d’énergie électrique intégrée sur une journée.

Ces campagnes de mesures sont essentielles pour comprendre et améliorer le processus de production énergétique de nos futures voiles.

Les résultats sont très encourageants pour Héole. Nous sommes confiants et avons hâte que nos premières grandes voiles produisent cette électricité en quantité au-delà du nécessaire. Un tel surplus d’énergie renouvelable pourrait participer à l’essor des motorisations électriques des voiliers de demain.